top of page

[2501-2600] by Peter Grieco


Photo by Alvaro Cvg



Fruits of gloomy contrast sharply crossing

the lively flow of discourse, the wondering

masses gazing at the feast, a bride of

eighteen persuaded by her teacher to

gather purple passages mingled with

magic verses, as simplicity of

motive returns earnestly in ruined

vanity: Admirable brethren lift

up thy dragged down charges & examine

every tendency towards vengeance, what

Spaniards whisper & what Lincoln condemned,

in the respectable construction of

obedience relieved of independence,

of structure conceived as perfection.



 

Author's Commentary


My poem [2501-2600] (Fruits of gloomy contrast) is from my “At the Musarium” series of more

than one hundred individual verses. Each verse selects its words from a different set of 100-word

groupings organized by word frequency order. Frequency rankings are based on a count of the

Gutenberg Project archive compiled at the Wiktionary web site. The bracketed numbers that

supply a title for each verse indicates the frequency rankings of the word group that particular

verse is based on. The higher the number, the rarer the frequency of word use in the corpus of

source texts. [2501-2600] uses words from the more common range of this continuum.


I gave myself a few “rules” to guide composition. I would use as many words from the group as

was practicable. I didn’t need to use all the words, but I should use most, while hoping to avoid

wordiness for its own sake. I would avoid using words more than once. I would try to make

sentences that make grammatical sense. I would allow myself, however, to use “little words” as

needed: conjunctions, articles, pronouns, perhaps a linking verb. I would take words as I found

them without altering their form (except for capitalization.) I wouldn’t change the tense or

number of a verb. I wouldn’t make a plural noun singular or vice-versa. I would indulge my

instinct for malapropism and mis-hearings, for antithesis, for consonance and rhyme. I have

generally used a ragged pentameter of roughly fourteen lines, and I have modified these rules

whenever I thought doing so would make a better poem.


I think that what makes [2501-2600] distinctive is how it undertakes to warn “the wondering

masses” against “vengeance” and other lockstep actions and attitudes. The meandering syntax

resists order, even as it ironically peruses “perfection.”



 

The Author


Peter J. Grieco attended SUNY Buffalo, completing his dissertation on working-class poetry

while working as a school bus driver. He taught literature and writing in Ankara and Seoul, as

well as at many Buffalo area colleges. In 2013 he completed a BA in mathematics. Recently

retired from teaching, he is the author of many poems printed in small magazines and published

online.


Peter J. Grieco

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page