top of page

Open Mic by Randy Lee White

Updated: Jun 24, 2020


Photo by Arthur Miranda



The blank sign-up sheet

calls to me like a white

buffalo bellowing,

Sign now!

I pigeonhole my doubt.

Can a turkey fly with eagles?

Snow-peaked mountains await

the bold speaker. Can I

shake off the jitters

loosen up

let the blood flow

gasp enough air to fill my lungs

vibrate the vocal cords?

hmmm...

Think outside the boxed universe—

think glorious thoughts

to make a heart beat faster

slinging sweat off the brow.

Imagine tunnel vision

as the anchor point.

Belayed from a fall

into the crevice of humiliation

I dangle, sandwiched between

two gifted speakers who securely

attach their crafted works

whose words breathe life

over the highest peak

down into the deepest valley

caressing reeds along the lake edge. Now

reflect on my speaking campaign

the lack of a good harness

to hold the right audience,

verbiage clutters the path.

Absent are the concrete images

with too few tie-in similes

to hoist up my propositions

and even fewer metaphors

to attract new listeners.

The call thunders.

Start now!

I scramble to salvation

scale the jagged cliffs

of hesitation and traverse

the granite facade

of Doubt’s Fissure. I

stand tall on the summit

speaking clearly to all, avoiding

mispronunciation

misappropriation

using confident gestures to hit

home the enduring points

with adequate support.

A turkey in flight!

I soar on winds of adulation

perch on clouds of validity

sing praises of a new balance

to eager ears listening below.

Between heaven and earth,

summit to base camp

I rappel down into reflection

to command a climactic end

on solid ground, content

with the polite tap

of fingers on palms.


 

The Author


Randy Lee White earned a Master in Arts with a Major in English from UNC Charlotte in 2007. He enjoys fishing, golf, and camping with the grandchildren. He has had stories and poems published in The Monarch Review, Gambling the Aisle, Sanskrit, Foliate Oak Literary Magazine, Sanskrit, and The Helix Literary Magazine. A collection of his stories, “Yearnings: Rendezvous,” is available at Amazon.com. For further information you can visit online at www.randywhitenow.com.



Randy White

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page