top of page

Pastoral by Michael Jewell


Photo by Maria Teneva




PASTORAL


A Sister of Mercy came to visit when I was sick,


but I didn't let her in. She wondered


when I had last attended church


and assured me that lost sheep


were always welcomed


back into the fold.



Not that she was saying I was lost, or anything


like that, she was quick to add, and I lied,


telling her that I had someone waiting


on the phone. I said, thanks


for stopping by, and then shut the door


in her face. The way I felt,



anyone who came would have received


the same treatment. I refused to be


drawn into conversation if it meant


accepting sympathy I didn't deserve.


Yet when I remember


the single, stubborn lock



of gray hair that made its bid for freedom,


escaping from beneath the nun's


penitential habit, I feel a sudden tenderness.


I bless all tendrils which defy


closely-guarded boundaries.


The life that rushes



through everything that grows, as unshorn


as desire, sanctifies each fugitive strand,


leading the world to liberation


through surrender, embracing its


mysterious beloved


wherever the wind blows.



 


The Author


Michael David Jewell believes that art and poetry both can speak to something tender and hidden, from one person to another, reminding us that we are not completely alone in this world. He acknowledges that the daily news may be grim beyond the point of desperation, yet each breath is an opportunity to heal the wounds we carry with us against our wills. He lives within site of a small range of mountains in Vermont. He sees them everyday through his window, and he believes that they also deliver this same message, but more eloquently, due to the absence of words or any sort of contrivance.





62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page