top of page

Unknown by Alejandro Giovanny Valdez Lasso

Updated: Mar 26, 2022


Photo by Alejandro Giovanny Valdez Lasso



Unknown

By Alejandro Giovanny Valdez Lasso


You are the unknown reasons for all the beauty in my life

You are the unknown peace that holds my star

You are the unknown light guiding my thoughts


You are the unknown maker of my beautiful words,

the fountain of creativity,

why I hold my pen and write


You are the scent of rose petals,

my vanilla, lavender, and the grass’ delicious smell

after a rainy night


You are the unknown reason for my sins, immoral thoughts,

why the devil whispers, telling me to embrace your body,

every morning and every night

I want to own your soul and give you mine


You're the unknown reason why God has you on this Earth,

for the betterment of my body and mind


To wake up next to your red lips,

lovely cheeks,

and green eyes,

gives me purpose to breathe and not move on to the next life


You're the reason why I love red lipstick


You're the unknown reason for everything I find

perfectly imperfect in a woman's body,

my sight loves to travel from your toes to hips,

to your eyes


You are the mountain between love and the skies


You are the heavens, the galaxies, the fallen stars

You are the shadows on Earth, guiding my soul at night


You are the freshness of life,

the beauty in everyone's eyes

But you’re mine


You are the sparkles to my life

why I wish to wake up every morning,

tomorrow, Friday, till my last breath, and beyond


You are my mid-afternoon happiness,

why coffee tastes so good all the time,

You are the flowers,

the colors which bring vibrance to my eyes


You are the kisses I love for their taste,

most delicious lips


The unknown reasons for all the beauty in my life



 

The Author


Alejandro Giovanny Valdez Lasso was born in Quito, Ecuador, and was legally brought to the US at age four. He has always been passionate about poetry, and it came organically to him. He wrote poems early in life but stopped. Then, fast forward to his late 20s, he began to play with words again. His experiences with love, hate, tragedies, successes, inequalities, losses, and finally unlocking his inner feelings opened his eyes and soul again to the world of poetry. Currently, he is working on short stories, poems, and children's books.




214 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page