top of page

Watercolors by Elis Gjoni









Artist statement


Video art and installation are the techniques that I have stopped and I am experimenting in

different expressions, thoughts feelings and touching. Mechanic movements of objects throughs

electricity gives me an internal satisfaction, I feel the creation of the object from non existing into

existing. The biography and the instinct are my most important columns inside me. I come from

an expressive biography, full of events and features, I come back from time to time and I find old

marks like in a canvas, I return them in the most minimalist way possible. Object with no value,

are the ones are the ones that wake my instinct up through changing them into valuable ones,

maybe not exactly as they used to be but a new face of movements and concepts. Most of my

work I have found in different situations, through working in building houses, through studies,

traveling, shooting movies, meeting other people who poke you emotionally. A lot of this work

contains naivety, courage, press-ion and you go into a new space like a double gravity. the aim of

my concepts is to go exactly where it is thought there is nothing to discover.



Title: Abington

Mediums: Watercolor

Materials: Paper 11 x 14

Styles: Impressionist

Subject: Nature

Elis Gjoni 2020


Extinction, is a cycle that I have been developing for two years where I have the approach to discover about the technique between paints and water paper, during the development I discover some special nuances and perfect or naive lines as is my background. this process of washing the painting after finishing is similar to that of photography, coincidence surprise is the culmination of this painting.




The Artist


Elis Gjoni was born on 1988 in the city of Puka. From his childhood he moved to live in Tirana

Albania, where he finished his studies at Artistic Liceum “Jordan Misja”. After several challenges,

in 2009 begins his studies at the Academy of Fine Arts (today University of the Arts), where he

graduates in 2014 majoring in Atelier e Multimedia-s. During his studies he has had several

artistic experiences, participating in several exhibitions locally and internationally. He has also

been an accomplice in the theater, in short films, workshops, documentaries and television.

Elis Gjoni has developed a fairly authentic language video media and installation in particular,

giving objects that he uses a character that transforms them into subjects that self-confess. He is

one of those young artists that deserve attention, because his first steps are really qualitative.

Currently he lives in the U.S.A.




Elis Gjoni

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page